Home Gym-Bodies Unite!

Greetings Everyone!

I’m Chris Uyyek, and I’m the voice behind Mentoring Movement.  Recently, I discovered that my on-again, off-again exercise history finally caught up to me in the form of high blood pressure.  My doctor said that we really couldn’t get to the bottom of my blood pressure issue until I got my body mass index down below the “overweight” category.  Now mind you, I wasn’t obese, but I was carrying around 20 – 25 more pounds than I should.  My body was starting to show the signs of what of carrying around those extra pounds was doing to me.

I started with a diet overhaul first, cutting out alcohol, soda, overly processed and fatty foods.  I replaced them with lean meats, and lots of green leafy veggies, as well as limited amounts of fats, whole grains, fruits, and coffee.  This change alone allowed me to lose 12 pounds since January 3, 2013.

Now I’m into the exercise portion of the equasion.  I plan to get my body lean, toned and fit enough to meet and exceed the challenges of everyday living.  If I want to go hiking for a day, I can do it.  If a friend needs me to help move, I can haul boxes and furniture up and down stairs for as long as it takes.  If I want to ride my horse for an hour, I can do what needs to be done to give her a good workout.

For me, DVD’s work well.  For you, it might be calisthenics, walking, running, bicycling, or something that doesn’t require a gym membership.  My main thing is that this form of exercise works for me.  I can get up, press play, bounce around for 45 minutes to an hour, and voila … I’m done and off about my day.  Going to the gym to work out is enough of an excuse to keep me from working out.  That and working out at home provides great entertainment for my two cats, wondering what the heck “Mom” is up to.

I want to hear from you!  Let’s check in when we’re pressing play.  How did your workout go?  How is your motivation today?  I am open to the community’s opinion about discussing the specific DVD that we love.  Let us know and we can support each other, even as we exercise by ourselves.  Just because we exercise at home doesn’t mean we need to do it alone!

Chris

PS – If you’re interested in finding out a little more about me, check out my bio page.  I’ll save the blog posts for conversations.  Let’s get this party started and shout out about what we’re up to.

Leave a comment