Progress Through Adaptation

I figured it was about time for a status update on how my workout journey is going.  The rehab is going well.  The race is going to the tortise this time for sure … slow and steady is going to win.  I have gone from having to lay face-up on the ground using 3 pound weights as a substitute for push ups, to where I am today.  I can finally do a regulation “military” push-up off my toes.  Yep, I’m up to a push-up with my full body weight.  HOORAY!  I am starting these out easy as well by only doing a few reps, and then going back to doing bent-knee push-ups.

It’s pretty clear now that I am going to take about twice as long as the program intended for me to get the results they promised, but this is such a huge victory.  This is the first time that I didn’t let an injury like this become an excuse for me to quit and stop exercising entirely.  This means that while re-habbing my shoulder, I’ve also been building strength in my core and my legs, which wouldn’t have happened if I gave up on exercising entirely.

How are you doing on your exercise journey?  Are you encountering set-backs?  How are you dealing with them?  Would you like some support?  Let’s get the discussion going and keep supporting each other on our quest for improved fitness and health.

Leave a Reply

