Slow and Steady Wins

I would rather say "I did it" than "I gave up".Perserverance isn’t the most exciting or sexy topic.  After a  while, when someone asks how your fitness program is going, you can say, “I’m still doing it.”  Sure, there are the ups and downs that come with participation, but what I’m noticing is that the ups and downs are like a graph … as long as I keep exercising, it doesn’t loop back and take me back to the beginning.  I am beginning to see that perserverance can be its own achievement.  To see the gradual, workout-by-workout accrual of progress can be a thing of beauty to behold.

I have been doggedly following my exercise routine, and this has tested my patience more than I ever thought possible.  I experienced a set-back in the form of a shoulder injury during the first couple of weeks of my 90 day program.  I have been joking with friends that my P90 workout may very well turn into the P180 workout, just to get to the end result I was supposed to see by the completion of the 90-day program.  I have adapted so that I can continue exercising and make whatever progress I can still achieve, while allowing my body to heal.  This adaptation and patient refusal to give up has allowed me to get to the point in the last week where I can finally start adding weight to my workouts!  I am now lifting more for my bicep curls, tricep exercises, and I’m even able to do bent-knee pushups!

A whole new world is opening up to me by flatly refusing to give up.  What can open up for you if you refuse to quit?  Where have you experienced success by simply being too stubborn to quit?

Leave a Reply

