Starting Anew Every Day

A year from now, you will wish you had started today.I was having this conversation with myself last week. Due to a horrid sinus infection, I took some time away from my exercise routine to let my body fight the bugs and recuperate. I was also preparing for our launch event for Mentoring Movement, so I realized that fighting the infection, exercising, AND getting the event put together might be too much at the same time.

An Exercise for Everyone was a success! We had a fantastic gathering of mentors, and the participants who attended loved the information, and the fun, welcoming atmosphere we created. We are all realizing the importance of helping people become more active and enhance their capacity to live amazing lives through exercise and fitness.

Yet how does this tie in to “Starting Anew Every Day”? I am realizing that with my fitness goals, and with this community, each day is the opportunity to start anew toward our goals. We get to decide what we are committed to, and if we want to take the actions necessary to honor those committments. Every day, it’s a choice.

With my fitness goals, last week I had to decide if I was going to re-start my exercise program right before going on a trip. I went through all of the excuses, and the great “reasons” I had to just put it off. I then realized that there is no convenient time to start (or resume) an exercise plan, and that obstacles like a vacation are always going to come up. I would be sitting there at the end of the vacation, wishing I had gone ahead and re-started my excercise program. I figured out a way to take my workout program and equipment with me, and this morning I worked out in my room on Kauai, as the doves cooed outside.

For what we are creating with this community, each day I get to ask what are we out to create? We are out to create so much support for people being active, being fit, and living expanded, amazing, capable lives, that we transform our entire culture’s attitude toward being active. We see the seeds out there right now. People are exercising, people are showing what comes from being fit, and yet there is still the pull for lesser effort … to skip it just this once, and okay, skip working out one more time … it won’t hurt … and then a year goes by and we get to wishing we had started honoring our commitment and continuing to exercise every day. I will not be standing there a year from now and wishing I had kept building this community. One by one, we add our voices, and our support to each other and our goals.

One thought on “Starting Anew Every Day

Leave a Reply

