Morning Yoga & Mindful Moments

Starting your day with yoga is an opportunity to practice mindfulness.  Mindfulness is about being fully aware of whatever is happening in the present moment, without filters or the lens of judgement. It is about cultivating awareness of the mind and body and truly living in the here and now. The present moment is the only place where life can be fully lived, yet we often miss the present moment because we are rehashing the past or worrying about the future. All you  need for morning yoga is a mat, a strap for stretching, some time, and yourself. I like to play soft, relaxing music without lyrics. I take time to connect with my breath and to really pay attention to how my body feels. I usually start on my back and warm up my core and do some stretches before rolling to my hands and knees and eventually up to warrior poses for some sort of flow. Each day is different, and I pay attention to what feels good in my body and what I need for that day. Research shows that as we find ways to practice mindfulness in our lives that we start to sleep better, are better able to handle stressful situations, and generally feel better about life.

Namaste.

Susan

One thought on “Morning Yoga & Mindful Moments

  1. Pingback: How Much Does Your Life Weigh? | Leap Like A Frog

Leave a Reply

