Patience Grasshopper …

I’ve mentioned in a prior post that in the process of re-starting my exercise routine, I managed to re-injure my left shoulder.  The last time I injured it, I used it as an excuse to take the next seven months off from exercise!  That option is simply not acceptable to me this time.  I have chosen to accommodate.  I’m pushing myself in the workouts in the areas where I can, and going ridiculously light on my left shoulder to give it time to heal.

How long should this take?

As long as it takes.

I realized all was not well with my shoulder on Sunday, February 22nd when I was doing an improvised workout while on vacation.  I was doing the parts of the routine that fit the constraints of my hotel room, and the push-ups got me again.  It took me a few workouts to dial in what was “light enough” to not cause my shoulder any further pain, and still keep it mobile to aid the healing process.

So, that was a week and a half ago.  I should be able to start ramping up my workouts again, right?  Considering that when I stopped exercising, it took me months of accupuncture treatments and myeofascial release (Rolfing) treatments to get it to stop hurting, I have to remind myself that I might be playing in the very low intensity level for longer than I anticipated.  The DVD program I’m using is on a 90-day calendar.  I may only get through the introductory level, and start my transition into the second level by the end of the 90 days.  The important part is that I’m still there, I’m still establishing the habit of regular exercise, and the rest of my body is getting the benefits of being active.

How have you been dealing with any setbacks in your fitness plan?  Our comments remind us that we are not alone in our struggles on our path to fitness.

One thought on “Patience Grasshopper …

Leave a Reply

